Stan Douglas wins Bell Award in Video Art

Ottawa, March 18, 2008 – The Canada Council for the Arts and Bell announced today that Stan Douglas is the winner of the 2008 Bell Award in Video Art (formerly the Bell Canada Award in Video Art). 

Continuing its tradition of patronage of the arts, Bell provides the Canada Council with an annual gift to fund the Bell Award for outstanding achievement in video art. The $10,000 prize has been awarded annually since 1991 for exceptional contribution by a video artist or artists to the advancement of video art in Canada and to the development of video practices (videotapes, installations or web-based video art). Stan Douglas joins the ranks of previous winners including John Greyson, Steve Reinke, Chantal duPont, Serge Murphy and Charles Guilbert, Tom Sherman, Robert Morin and Lorraine Dufour, Paul Wong, Lisa Steele and Kim Tomczak, Zacharias Kunuk and Norman Cohn, Sara Diamond, Luc Bourdon, Vera Frenkel, General Idea, and Nelson Henricks. The prize presentation reception will be held later this spring.

Stan Douglas was selected by a peer assessment committee made up of professional video artists: David Clark (Halifax), Jillian Mcdonald (Brooklyn, New York) and Fabrice Montal (Quebec City). He was selected from a list of finalists recommended by a nominating committee consisting of Tim Folkmann (Edmonton), Richard Fung (Toronto) and Serge Murphy (Montreal).

Stan Douglas

Stan Douglas was born in 1960 in Vancouver, where he currently lives and works. Educated at the Emily Carr Institute of Art and Design in Vancouver, Mr. Douglas has exhibited widely since his first solo show in 1981. Among numerous major exhibitions, he was included in the 1995 Carnegie International, the 1995 Whitney Biennial, Documenta X and XI, the 49th and the 51st Venice Biennale. In 1999, his retrospective at the Vancouver Art Gallery travelled to Toronto, Tilburg (The Netherlands) and Los Angeles. In 2007, he was the subject of a major retrospective in Stuttgart, Germany.

Mr. Douglas is an artist whose work explores social histories played out through a complex cinematic and televisual language. His interrogation of the structural possibilities of film and video, in concert with intricately developed narratives, has resulted in a number of groundbreaking contemporary artworks.

General information

In addition to its principal role of promoting and fostering the arts in Canada, the Canada Council for the Arts administers and awards prizes and fellowships to over 200 artists and scholars annually in the arts, humanities, social sciences, natural and health sciences, and engineering. Among these are the Governor General’s Awards in Visual and Media Arts, the Killam Prizes, the Killam Research Fellowships, the Canada Council for the Arts Molson Prizes, the Governor General’s Literary Awards and the Walter Carsen Prize for Excellence in the Performing Arts.

For more information about these awards, including nomination procedures, contact Joanne Larocque-Poirier, Head, Endowments and Prizes, at 613-566-4414, or 1-800-263-5588, ext. 5041, or by e-mail;

Jacqueline Michelis
Bell, Media Relations